Why I Sort of Hate Thanksgiving

I’m going to be honest, I don’t really like Thanksgiving. I read so many sappy posts yesterday about people being thankful for this that and the other thing, and yes, we all know you are thankful for your children and families and friends first – they always come first – but my God, I feel like with the advent of social media, Thanksgiving has become another day for people to brag about what they have and it rubs in the faces of people like me, who don’t have.

I have a very small family. VERY SMALL. It’s my daughter, my parents, my sister, and me. I have grandparents who live in Florida that we see once a year, but that’s it. No aunts & uncles, no cousins, nada. There’s a long story behind that – that my parents essentially estranged us from the rest of the family because of petty fights.

I remember Thanksgivings of my childhood when my grandparents and my mother’s sister came with her family, I remember Christmases of piling into the car after breakfast and driving down to my other grandma’s house before she died and spending the day with TONS of family members, because my dad’s side of the family is huge. But, for certain reasons that’s over now.

Now, Thanksgiving dinner feels like any other meal, except with turkey. It’s just my parents, my sister, and me – my daughter spends every Thanksgiving with her dad’s family because I get her on Christmas.

Meanwhile, on Facebook, my friends are sitting down to feasts in filled houses with filled up hearts.

Of course I’m thankful for my family and friends.

But somehow the day just  makes me feel all the little holes in my heart just a little bit more than other days, and that kind of sucks.

 

2 thoughts on “Why I Sort of Hate Thanksgiving

  1. Sometimes it’s just the little things.
    I’m thankful my son doesn’t get shanked by a shiv on the playground.
    And a lot of time, it’s just me and him. What are you doing next thanksgiving?

  2. Pfft, I don’t even know what I’m doing next weekend, let alone next year. Trying to think that far into the future hurts my brain. I am also glad my kid doesn’t get shanked on the playground, and I’m happy to say that even with my anxiety, I hadn’t actually thought of that one. But now I get to think about it, yay! It’s the little things…

Leave a Reply

