What Makes You Feel Nourished?

Nourished. Nourished. It’s one of those words that if you look at it and say it a bunch of times, it sort of becomes unrecognizable.

The way we nourish ourselves determines our ability to shine our light in the world. And nourishment doesn’t just come in the form of food and drink and sunshine; it’s equally important to nourish your spirit.

What made your soul feel most nourished this year? reverb13

As I sit here and try not to be my usual self (meaning, when I try to positively reflect instead of negatively brood and rant) I can think of just a few things that made me feel nourished in my soul this year, and thankfully, those things are friends.

I had a lot of bad friends up until last year, when I pretty much dumped all of them and moved on with my life. Last winter was very hard and lonely for me as I was transitioning out of my “old life” that was leading me down a path of self destruction. As I left that life and those people who were a part of it behind I was really feeling adrift, until I remembered that I do have a few true friends who I can count on to be there for me, and ones that I always want to be around, too.

Friends and family are so important, right? They are the lifeblood of our lives, life really wouldn’t be worth living without good friends and a loving family… And for such a long time I was surrounded by a community of total dopes that I didn’t even like much, and who I knew were bad for me.

Now, the people I spend my time with DO nourish me. They are generous and kind and down to earth. They are supportive and funny and fun. And when I am feeling at my worst, they are always, ALWAYS there to lift me up out of it.

Now, I see that I can find friends and a community even online, and just these past few days of blogging here has opened me up and led me to new people who I feel may be true kindred spirits, as much as you can tell from knowing people from behind a computer screen.

So, what makes you feel nourished?

9 thoughts on “What Makes You Feel Nourished?

  1. I think I would be lost without my online communities. It has kept me sane and given me hope. I don’t have many kindred spirits locally … but I am beginning to think that there may be more out there than I know.
    My sister spirits are such a constant that I don’t even think of how much they do nourish me (must remember to thank them) and Thank you for reminding me!

  2. I’m glad you are participating in Reverb13. Friendships make all the difference. I used to think there was no one in Bakersfield who would “get me” for the quirky self I am, but now I am surrounded by dear friends…. my “local family” so to speak. You’re right, they do nourish me!

    Happy Reverbing!

  3. It’s amazing how much can change in a year… and how much of a difference it can make to surround ourselves with the right people. I’ve had to let go of some toxic relationships and it really does do wonders for your energy and ability to take on the world. What nourishes me? Probably my dog, boyfriend, and Netflix. Likely in that order 😉

Leave a Reply

