I Am A Writer

Today’s Reverb13 prompt is:

What was the greatest risk you took in 2013? What was the outcome?

I had to do some soul searching for this one. There were a few things I’ve done this year that came to mind, but the more I thought about them, the harder it was for me to determine whether they were risky acts or brave acts, and brave won out in most of them.

The truth is, I’m not a risk taker. As much as I try to seize the day, I also try to fly under the radar, avoid confrontation, and stay safe in my little world.

So I struggled with this one, and I kept asking myself, what was the thing I did that made my heart beat the fastest, what was the thing I did that I almost didn’t do because I was afraid of failing?

Well, it might not seem like much to you, but a few months ago I changed my “About” blurb on my personal Facebook page to say:

I am a writer, and my first book will be finished in 2014.

Whew. I still need to take a breath after reading the words I professed so boldly, so boldly and OPENLY, to so many people.

You see, I write every day. Usually at least one blog post, and always some fiction. I participate in some online writing challenges like Trifecta and Studio 30+, and I also write novels.

Lots of novels.

I just won my sixth NaNoWriMo, and all told I have eleven manuscripts sitting on a shelf in my trailer, just collecting dust and mocking me, because I’ve never been brave enough to put any of them out into the world.

The truth is, I don’t know what book I’m going to publish. I don’t know whether I’ve even written it yet. But I do know that when I choose to define myself, I say, I am a writer, and the truth of it shakes down my bones.

I risk letting myself down. I risk letting my readers down. I risk failing at the most important goal I have ever set for myself. I risk losing my dream of becoming a published author. I risk not making my dream come true.

We’ll see what 2014 brings. I’m looking forward to it more each day.

12 thoughts on “I Am A Writer

  1. Rose says:

    I read from above comment that you might post on Kindle? That would be fabulous and I would definitely download immediately! It is wonderful that you have solidified your dream of being a writer by putting it in a place that makes you accountable, in a way. I don’t have any “big dreams” for myself like that, and I admire you for looking forward to big things for yourself.

  2. I don’t have the balls to call myself a writer. Maybe someday. Not fishing for compliments, but I’m a dilettante. at best.
    But you – with that list of things you have accomplished?
    You’ve earned it. Own it. You are a writer.

Leave a Reply

