On My Sixth NaNoWriMo Win

I mentioned before that I am a writer, and every year I participate in NaNoWriMo. National Novel Writing Month has become very special to me over the last eight years I have been participating, and this year marks my sixth “win” of reaching 50,000 words in 30 days.

I get pumped for NaNoWriMo. I look forward to it every year and get giddy with nervousness and excitement in the week or so before the first of November rolls around, and at midnight on Halloween I begin writing. It’s a ritual that I stick to because I am convinced that it has something to do with winning – that commitment to stay up late and start my book at 12:01am. Like I mean it.

Let me tell you, writing a book in a month isn’t easy. A lot of people think I make it look easy, because I often finish quite early (last year on the 26th, this year on the 24th.) I’m going to challenge myself next year to finish in under 20 days. It keeps things exciting for me, to challenge myself.

So I’m asked by #Reverb13 today, who inspired you this year?

Inspiration is a finicky, fickle little bitch, you know? It doesn’t always come when you need it, it often lets you down.

When you do things like write books for fun, because you love it, you can’t wait for inspiration to come. You have to just get your butt in the chair, buckle down, and write.

To think that I could do this – that I could write books over and over again, year after year, is totally awesome to me. It’s what I want to do with my life, it’s how I want to make a living if I can somehow, someday find the right story to publish. I wrote two books this year – one last month and one in July for Camp NaNoWriMo, and I did it against all odds.

I did it even though the entire time the demons in my head were telling me I couldn’t. I did it last month even though I was working five days a week and taking care of my daughter alone. I did it even though thousands of others couldn’t.

I did it. For this sixth time.

I inspired myself this year.

2 thoughts on “On My Sixth NaNoWriMo Win

Leave a Reply

