It’s Not the Critic Who Counts

There are stages to writing a book, and right now I am in the midst of one of the hardest ones. I am in the thinking/planning stage. Not quite to the planning/outlining stage, but in a darker, more muddled place. I’m just thinking, brainstorming, trying to rip characters out of the murky character abyss and breathe life into them in scrawled snippets in notebooks.

It’s a scary, frustrating stage to be in, because when you’re in it you never know whether you are going to come out of it with something alive. There are times when I come out of this stage empty handed and beaten.

This can’t be one of them, because I said I was going to publish my first book in 2014.

The book I haven’t written yet. The book that I’m still just thinking and dreaming about.

daringgreatlybadge1But, I’m doing it. I dedicate time every day to working on this novel to be, and I may go so far as to create a schedule for myself – set deadlines – get even more serious.

Because I’m doing it.

“It’s not the critic who counts. It’s not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled. Credit belongs to the man who really was in the arena, his face marred by dust, sweat, and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs to come short and short again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming. It is the man who actually strives to do the deeds, who knows the great enthusiasm and knows the great devotion, who spends himself on a worthy cause, who at best, knows in the end the triumph of great achievement. And, who at worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly…”

Theodore Roosevelt was an amazing man and a great president, and this quote has been special to me for years before Brene Brown wrote the first self-help book that I paid actual money to read.

I read Daring Greatly earlier this year, ordered it last winter when I was in a dark, cold place, and here we are in that time again and I’m thinking now of pulling it off the shelf, thinking of it now because of today’s #Reverb13 prompt: What challenges lie ahead in 2014? How might you meet them boldly?

Well, I’m going to write this book. That’s a challenge, because I want to write my big epic vampire saga, and let’s just say I’m having a little trouble bringing it all together.

Hard work isn’t going to stop me. Naysayers, and there are so many of them when you are trying to write a book, are not going to stop me. I am going to be in the arena with words, and I’m going to keep trying every day to meet my own goals, and that’s doing it boldly.

3 thoughts on “It’s Not the Critic Who Counts

  1. Huzzah! I like your gumption πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to start writing something new… And that’s only because I’m not near that stage yet and have thus romanticized it to pieces within my mind πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

