Happy Freakin’ Holidays

I’ve been avoiding the internet for the last week and a half, tired of seeing all the Christmas posts that remind me over and over that I don’t really like Christmas all that much. I suppose I would like it if I had some money to spend on gifts for people, but really all it does is stress me out and remind me of how little I have. I’m not just talking about material things – I feel very alone at Christmas, too. I don’t have “that special someone” to share the holidays with, and I have a very small family so the day is always quiet.

Also, today is my daughter’s birthday. She’s eight today. Yeah, I had a Christmas baby, whoopdee freaking doo. People have a lot of things to say about that – I don’t really have much to say at all, except I feel bad for her because I feel like she got gypped out of having a special day for herself. Though, she’s eight now and doesn’t really seem to mind.

I don’t know why I came to post today – maybe to break the silence, maybe to say HELP ME I’M DROWNING IN CHRISTMAS SORROW.

There must be other people out there who just don’t really like the holidays, right?

6 thoughts on “Happy Freakin’ Holidays

  1. Well, Janie, I for one am glad you posted. I was starting to think you had been abducted by aliens. 😀 Christmas for me, well, it is what it is. I have no money, but I do have some pretty good loved ones, so it all turns out okay in the mix. People just have to be happy with receiving homemade Chex Mix from me for a present, and if they don’t like that, they can stick it. My DSB hate.hate.hates the holidays, so I can get where you’re coming from. I’m usually just really relieved by the time New Year’s is over. I get peopled out, big time, and have been doing a lot of grumping the past few days because DSB keeps trashing out my kitchen with making stuff for the holidays. Is it really necessary to make three pans of fudge? Apparently it is. Gag a maggot. At any rate, I hope you can at the very least have a peaceful day. Maybe watch a funny (non-Christmasy) movie or, once your little one goes to bed, something scary. My very best to you, my dear! Rose

  2. Janie oh my Janie doh- I’ve been looking for you-
    Because ( and this should cheer you up) I was nominated for The Sunshine Award, and I have to nominate other bloggers. And you are one of them.

    I am out of town, but when I’m home, I’ll send you the big ol emblem, and the rules and details.

    I love you, Janie girl. The holidays are almost over.

    • OMG thanks Samara, I don’t feel deserving cuz I’ve been such a bad blogger, but yay! Awards! I’m going to catch up on all my blog reading tonight I proooooomise.

      • You ROCK! I’m supposed to nominate 12 bloggers, but I’m not – I’m only giving this to a few very special bloggers who deserve a big following! Like you!

  3. Jolie Michele says:

    Janie,
    I don’t care much for the holidays either. So I am with you on that front. Just wanted to let you know you aren’t alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

