Poof.

I was going to write a longwinded (but funny) post about how my pipes froze the other day and I inadvertently broke my toilet. Then I was going to write a post about how cold it is outside today and it makes me want to curl up in a hole and hibernate for the rest of the winter.

But then, today, my best friend’s grandmother died, and I can’t really think of anything nice or funny to say anymore.

Thankfully, if we can be thankful for anything, it was a massive stroke that hit her quickly and she probably didn’t even have a clue what was happening to her until she was already gone. I don’t know about you, but I take some solace in that. I think about death a whole heck of a lot all on my own, and a big old stroke or aneurism, something that just shuts you off like a light switch – I don’t know about you, but to me that sounds like the way to go.

Poof.

That’s it, people can just be gone. One minute sitting on the couch watching TV, the next minute gone from the world forever.

Life’s one hell of a thing, isn’t it?

One thought on “Poof.

  1. It’s definitely how I would like to go, I think / worry far too much about the pains and strains of getting old and not having anyone to look after me. However, I think to go poof would be so hard on those left behind. So sad, I hope your friend is ok.

Leave a Reply

