Sometimes I’m Really Rambly

“We are told not to privilege one story above another. All the stories must be told. Well, maybe that’s true, maybe all stories are worth hearing, but not all stories are worth telling.”

― Jeanette Winterson, Lighthousekeeping

I’ve been thinking all day about yesterday’s post, what I said about how I have been holding back online and from people in my life. I was happy with the responses I got from people, but at the same time I noticed today that there was some serious drama going on between some of the bloggers on WordPress who I read constantly, and that sort of canceled out some of the hope for a safe place because obviously there are some creepers and nasty people out there.

On the other hand, I see how great the mental health community on WordPress is, and how many GREAT people are out there going through their own shit every day and blogging so candidly about it. I bet a lot of them, if not ALL of them are wondering whether anyone out there cares what they are thinking about or going through, but we do. I can attest I spend hours each day reading and commenting on blogs – this blogging thing is a big part of a lot of people’s lives, and my god, how I yearn to feel comfortable rambling on about myself in the past and present tense.

But tonight, I’m not feeling all deep and feely.

I woke up this morning with the intention of going to the bank to make a deposit and to grab an iced coffee from McDonalds, which I am totally addicted to, McD’s iced coffee is SO much better than Dunkin Donuts in my opinion, and I would go for a Starbucks first always but there isn’t one in the near vicinity of me.

Anyway, I walk outside with Squido and see that one of my back tires is completely flat to the ground. Totally fucked up my day, and it’s going to fuck up tomorrow to, when I have to deal with it.

Then, I went to work tonight and there was a new girl there. I didn’t really like her.

So, I came home from work and started watching LOST and painted my nails. I’m not allowed to have my nails painted at work, but I only work Wednesday-Saturday, so Saturday night I paint my nails and wear it for a few days. Have I ever mentioned I love painting my nails and have a ridiculously huge (and sort of expensive) nail polish collection? Fun fact.

I’m tired guys, I don’t have a segue out of this post but ZZZzzzzzzzzz.

 

6 thoughts on “Sometimes I’m Really Rambly

  1. You’re right that there are trolls out that can only be mean and nasty. I am thankful that I have so far only had positive comments from everyone (including you).

    Sorry about your tire. I just got a flat the other day too, and it sucked.

    See you around!

  2. I am sure there are people out there who have received negative feedback about posts centered around mental health, but I can honestly tell you I have been blogging for years (410 posts now) and I have never EVER had a negative comment. And I have put some pretty radical and raw stuff up there. Granted, I don’t have 5,000 followers, but that’s beyond the point. You should write about what YOU want to write about, and if you don’t want to include your mental health issues in this particular blog, you could always start a second blog. I am not meaning to sound pushy, but blogging is one of the many ways that you can track your moods, what works, what doesn’t, etc. It provides perspective. I think you are a great writer and hope you keep writing, no matter the topic. I’ll still be here, reading. 😀

    • It would be silly to start another anonymous blog. I’m jumping into the deep end… I’m going to write the post that makes me want to throw up just thinking about it. It’s people like you that make me have hope that I’ll still be accepted once its out there.

  3. Argh. It really is a hard balance… trying to write candidly and connect with people, but also to balance that out with boundaries and self-preservation. For the most part, I think everyone on here is pretty awesome though. I think that if you feel compelled to share something then that is a good feeling to follow.

Leave a Reply

