A Supernatural Addiction.

Fun fact about me: I’m a hardcore television watcher. I’m not the kind of person who sits in front of the TV all day flipping through cable channels and watching whatever is on. I actually don’t even have cable, just Netflix streaming. I am, let’s say, a hardcore show fan. When I get into something, I get REALLY into it, and I often watch it twice. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve seen all of LOST, The West Wing, and Jericho. And all of the available seasons of The Walking Dead, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and The X-Files. Don’t even get me started on The X-Files.

Anyway, all this time has gone by in my life and I haven’t watched Supernatural. There is just so much great TV out there to watch (and watch again) that I just hadn’t gotten around to trying it. But I found myself last week with nothing new to watch and thought I would give it a whirl, and now I am totally hooked and can’t stop watching it and have already watched three and a half seasons in a week. Because right now it’s all I do. I just can’t stop. Because this:

samwinchesterAnd OMG this:

deanwinchesterDon’t get me wrong – like everything in life, there are a bunch of things that really annoy me about this show. I hear there are as many Supernatural haters as fans out there. It took me a while to warm up to Sam and Dean because I thought they were “over acting” and just too extra dramatic about things, but three seasons plus in, I get a feel that this is just the way these guys are. They have their depth, too, and their own separate story lines are really interesting.

I also really kind of think that being able to shoot a ghost with a gun is kind of lame. In my own supernatural fantasies I don’t see using a gun against my enemies. It seems like a cop out, but maybe it’s also because I just don’t like guns. Sure, maybe the show is trying to be revolutionary in that way, but I just don’t buy it.

I like the way that the show is like X-Files in that there is a main story line for each character that continues throughout the show, but that the show is also peppered with standalone episodes. Some of the episodes are really fucking scary – scary enough to surprise me that there were things this scary on TV in 2008-2009 range before American Horror Story came along. And, some of the episodes are hilariously funny – also like The X-Files.

Well, I need to get back to paying attention to the Winchester brothers now, so I hope you enjoyed my little review of Supernatural. I think that if you are a fan of The X-Files or Buffy, you would really enjoy this show.

 

5 thoughts on “A Supernatural Addiction.

Leave a Reply

